Welcome to

Craighead County

Located in northeastern Arkansas, Craighead County has an area of 717 square miles and a population of 107,115 according to the 2017 census.

The creation of Craighead County occurred on February 19, 1859, in the Arkansas Legislature in Little Rock, Arkansas. Senator William A. Jones, representing St. Francis and Poinsett Counties, sponsored an Act to create a new county from parts of Greene, Mississippi, and Poinsett Counties.

For residents and businesses in Craighead County, we would like your help in planning for future disasters. The link below is for the Hazard Vulnerability Analysis which lists several types of disasters. It will really help us if you will take the time to complete the survey listing how likely, potential impacts, and preparedness for the disasters listed. 

Code of Ordinances | Craighead County, AR | Municode Library


Events Calendar

Craighead County Holiday Observances

(Craighead County offices observe several holidays throughout the year. During these observances, normal office hours are unavailable as each department will be closed on those days. Please refer to the following list of dates to find the dates that our offices are closed in observance.)

January 3, 2022 - New Year's Day  - Offices closed

January 17, 2022 - Martin Luther King Day - Offices closed

February 21, 2022 - President's Day - Offices closed

May 30, 2022 - Memorial Day- Offices closed

July 4, 2022 - Independence Day - Offices closed

September 5, 2022 - Labor Day - Offices closed

November 11, 2022 - Veteran's Day - Offices closed

November 24 & 25, 2022 - Thanksgiving - Offices closed

December 23 & 26, 2022 - Christmas - Offices closed

January 2, 2023 - New Year's Day (observed) - Offices closed

View All Events